New BBL season ready for tip-off

The 2017/2018 Baltic Basketball League season is just about ready to tip off! Two groups of seven - 14 teams in total - will battle for the crown and represent five countries.


All participants have been confirmed and it’s set to be a very interesting season, as we welcome Tsmoki-Minsk to the league. Alongside the back-to-back-to-back Belarusian champions there will be a league-high of five teams from Estonia. Latvia and Lithuania will be represented by 4 and 3 clubs, respectively, whereas Barsy Atyrau will continue being the only Kazakh team in the league.

It is worth mentioning that Tsmoki and Barsy will play all their games in away grounds during the season.

As we mentioned before, 14 participating teams will be divided between two groups and will play in a round robin format (each team faces each team twice, home and away). Four best teams of each group advance to the Quarterfinals.


Siauliai (Lithuania) TTU (Estonia)

Betsafe/Liepaja (Latvia)

Pieno zvaigzdes (Lithuania)

Vytautas (Lithuania)

Barsy (Kazakhstan)

AVIS Utilitas Rapla (Estonia)

Valmiera/ORDO (Latvia)
Tsmoki-Minsk (Belarus) University of Tartu (Estonia)
Port of Parnu (Estonia) Tallinna Kalev/TLU (Estonia)
Jurmala (Latvia) BC Ogre (Latvia)


All qualified teams will be ranked from 1st to 8th place according to their win-loss records for determining home/away games in the BBL Quarter-Finals, the BBL Semi-Finals and the BBL Finals (the team with the higher ranking after BBL Regular season will play the second game at home), but the Quarterfinals will be played out as follows:

Pair 1: Group B 4th place vs. Group A 1st place;
Pair 2: Group A 3rd place vs. Group B 2nd place;
Pair 3: Group B 3rd place vs. Group A 2nd place;
Pair 4: Group A 4th place vs. Group B 1st place.

Throughout the Playoffs every round will consist of two games (home and away) and the team with an advantage in the combined score of both games will move on to the next round.

In the Semifinals, the winner of Pair 1 will go on to face winner of Pair 2, as Pair 3 and Pair 4 winners will battle each other. The triumphant side of each Semifinal will go on to the BBL Finals.

Basketball begins on the 24th of October, and we will announce the full schedule shortly.