Format of 2015-16 BBL season confirmed

The regulations for the 2015-16 Baltic Basketball League campaign were confirmed in a Board meeting held in Riga on September 6. The upcoming BBL Regular Season, set to start on October 13, will feature 14 teams from four different countries, with five more clubs potentially joining from the BBL Play-Offs.


The five Baltic teams — Siauliai, Ventspils, Juventus, Tartu Rock, Pieno Zvaigzdes — that will play in the new FIBA Europe competition will join starting from the BBL Eight-Final round if they do not qualify for the FIBA Europe Play-Offs.

The remaining 14 teams will be divided into two groups of seven teams and will play in a round robin format, which will see each team faces their group opponents twice – home and away.

Group A Group B
Barons Riga Barsy Atyrau
Lietkabelis Panevezys Jekabpils
Nevezis Jurmala
Parnu Liepaja
Rapla Tarvas Rakvere
TLU TTU Tallinn
Valmiera Vytautas Prienai-Birstonas

The Kazakhstan team Barsy Atyrau will play only a few games at home, with the remaining matches played away during the BBL Regular Season.

Eleven teams (teams placed 1st – 5th in each group and the best 6th placed team) will qualify for the BBL Eight-Finals. The remaining teams with the highest ranking after the BBL Regular Season will have the chance to participate in the Play-Offs, if less than five teams from FIBA Europe competition participate in the BBL Eight-Finals.

In determining Play-Off pairs, last season’s ranking will apply to the teams participating in the FIBA Europe competition. As champions, Siauliai will get the lowest-ranked opponent, Ventspils, Juventus, Rock and Pieno Zvaigzdes will be second, third, fourth and fifth on the list respectively.

In all Play-Off stages, the competition will be conducted in a two-game home and away format, with the team with the best aggregate score advancing to the next round.

The final standings will be determined in BBL Finals and BBL bronze-medal series, also in the same format.

More than 80 games of the 2015-16 BBL season will be shown live online at DELFI TV and, with the best BBL Play-Off games also broadcasted by Viasat Sport Baltic.