Siauliai win Triobet BBL third time in a row!

SIAULIAI – Home fans in Siauliai were witnesses to history being made, as Siauliai overcame a sizeable first-leg deficit against TU/Rock to become only the second team ever in Triobet BBL to lift the tournament crown three years in a row.


The Lithuanian side celebrated a 102-76 victory in Siauliai after an excellent second half after losing the first game on the road in Tartu by seven points.

Siauliai forward Rokas Giedraitis was awarded the MVP of the Final series.

The visitors were not fazed by the rowdy atmosphere in the Siauliai arena and got off to a solid start, taking a 17-12 lead after a Gert Dorbek three-pointer seven minutes into the game. Siauliai didn’t allow TU/Rock to break away, but were indeed behind for most of the first half.

After two quarters of physical basketball, things were as they were at the start of the game, with teams level at 48-48.TU/Rock big man Karolis Petrukonis was unstoppable in the first half of the game, but had already had four fouls.

The halftime pep talk seemed to have been much more useful for Siauliai, who came out with noticeably higher levels of energy after the break. A barrage of three-pointers in the third quarter saw the hosts jump out to a 76-56 lead before the final quarter.

TU/Rock had to rely on three-point shooting to close the gap and while their shorts were falling, they couldn’t handle Cameron Ayers who rained fire from deep on the other end just as accurately.

While the time was ticking down faster and faster, the gap between the sides was not shrinking, allowing Siauliai to confidently march to their third Triobet BBL title in a row. A feat also accomplished only by Zalgiris.